hello, friends!

i’ve been saying that for awhile now. i got it from my favorite kindergarten teacher ever, who worked at the school where i served my americorps term last year. i like greeting everyone as friends. it is cozy.

although, now, with my going to quaker meeting and stuff, i’ve become shy-er about that. it is like saying, “hello, christians!” or “hello, muslims!” or something equally obvious. someone told me that if i don’t capitalize it it’s okay, but i rarely capitalize anything. so!

hi. i’m cubbie. this is me. those first two paragraphs are how i think. a lot. so be prepared.

this is meant to be my quaker blog. i have a livejournal already, and have had a whole bunch of online journals in the past few years. but i think this may be the first one with a specific theme.

i’m doing it because i’ve been having lots of quaker-related thoughts that i want to share with and discuss with people, probably primarily quakers, though not necessarily. my lj is friendslocked, so i can’t share things with my new quaker friends the way i would like to, and there are just so many things i want to share!

i’ve daydreamed about this introduction a gazillion times, and it was much more brilliant than this.

a note about the title and then i have to go. i’m a little nervous about it, because “peculiar” in the quaker sense seems to mean something theologically specific that i’m not sure actually fits me. but i love the word, and i love it juxtaposed with queer to describe me. and i’m scared that if i ask people they will tell me to change it, but i want to know if people think it’s an offensive bad idea, because that’s important to me. and as far as “seams”– i love to show my seams. i am always growing and learning and even though things i say will probably embarass me someday, it is important for me to keep my growth process transparent. it keeps me humble, maybe, and i hope that it helps other people with their growth processes, also.

so. um. hi!

Published in: on 14 November, 2006 at 9:05 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peculiarqueer.wordpress.com/2006/11/14/hello-friends/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. 1.

    Hi! I think I’m too tired to give you a more precise explanation of what peculiar means in Quakerese, but I don’t think anyone would be offended by your usage.

    I am so glad that you are finding your way into our Meeting – and that you are feeling welcomed and encouraged to share your spiritual journey with us.

    I look forward to reading more.

    Comment by Robin M. — November 14, 2006 @ 9:15 pm
    2.

    i have read a few things using the word peculiar, and i have a vague idea of what it means. i’m sure i’ll come across more definitions in my reading.

    thank you for the welcoming. have a good rest and night and things.

    Comment by cublet — November 14, 2006 @ 9:22 pm
    3.

    Hi Cubbie! Thanks for letting us know about your link: eep, indeed!

    The phrase “a peculiar people” is how the word peculiar is most often applied to Quakers. It applies particularly to the “quietist” phase, when Quakers clung to “thee/thou” plain speech when it was by then outmoded, somewhat antiquated plain dress, kept to themselves a lot, and read each other out of meeting (the Quaker form of excommunication) for marrying outside the faith. I’m sure there’s a better explanation but that’s what I think.

    I loved the line about how you now feel shy to say, “Hello, Friends” because it’s like “Hello, Christians!” or “Hello, Muslims!” (rotfl) Your friend is right, just keep it lowercase and we’ll never know the difference.

    Welcome to the quakosphere!

    – Chris M.

    Comment by Chris M. — November 14, 2006 @ 10:11 pm


Leave a Reply

