lift up your hands.

today, while talking to krista about my recent wrestling with the ghosts of homophobic religion, i said something about how i don’t understand god… and i fumbled a bit around my attempts and then said something about how all i know is that i’m being as honest as i know how to be, in my living and in my searching, and that’s what i’ve got. and then i said, “god isn’t a romantic hero in a teen romance novel where you have to pretend you like cars.” and that right there was a moment of clarity. just that remembrance that you can’t fake it with god. and if you’re trying to impress god by faking it, you’re not going to make it.

today at meeting for worship, i was thinking about the way that we think of religions as possessions– graspable, definable, and separate– and then i had this very vivid image of a piece of wet watercolour paper, with red drops of watercolour on it, separate, near, blurring into each other, red like blood which is pain and which is also something that we all have and that we all live with.

the other thing that i sat with is that i feel like my biggest task right now is to just like and accept myself. which sounds so selfish and self-centered and there must be more to that. but, folks, as i’ve explored in the last incarnation of this journal, my father was a man who spent his life self-destructing and my mother is a woman who was searching for someone to love her and felt like she got that once she had me. so i was raised by people who felt pretty worthless. and who told me over and over again that i was the best treasure in the world. i started banging my head against walls when i was six, i started contemplating suicide when i was seven, and when i was eight, i thought i was jesus (not as in a symptom of schizophrenia, but as in a “these people are telling me i’m perfect, and that there was one perfect person… and i think i heard somewhere he was coming again… oh, and remember i’m 8.”). so “sinners in the hands of an angry god,” reverend dimsdale, self-flagellation, hairshirt land, it doesn’t work for me. i know for a fact that when you loathe yourself, you are not good for other people. and i know how easy it is to loathe yourself and to think that it’s a virtue. and i know how, for me, it’s much much much harder to accept that i am my own gift from god. i’m not “god’s gift” as they say, but i’m the cubbie i’ve been given to work with, and i need to be a good steward and be careful with me.

which brings me to the realization i came up with today as i walked home from work… which is that this year was the year i broke into a million pieces, and discovered that i’m whole.

Published in: on 30 December, 2007 at 11:20 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peculiarqueer.wordpress.com/2007/12/30/lift-up-your-hands/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey Cubbie,
    Why is it that so many people don’t know how to love themselves? I’m included on that list, this year I’ve started figuring it out. I don’t know why but Christianity didn’t tell me how to love myself, maybe it was implied but I’m not sure. It was all about self-sacrifice. Which I do… but then you risk burnout and that’s no good. Anyway… yea, good post.

  2. Hey Cubster, I have a new grown-up blog, the old one is now defunct. It’s at http://www.rainbowfriends.net.

  3. i’ve had some really good conversations with stephen about this self-love thing. about how we need to figure out how to love ourselves or else we’re not really bringing anything good to god… and stuff. it was one of those conversations where things really resonated and i kind of incorporated them into my understanding of the world, but it’s not completely verbal yet.


Leave a Reply

