i’ve got a post bubbling, but i think it will take some more thought and an extended session in front of a nonwork computer for it to come out right. but i’ve been tagged for a meme from both cat and robin for this meme, so i’m doing it.

1. Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pages).
2. Open the book to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people.
as usual, i feel like i need a ruler to do this meme. and also, closest to what part of me? and this time, there’s the particular joke of… i don’t own any of these books! they are all around me, but they belong to the store i work at. i’m going to pick the one that i can see most clearly from the computer, rather than the one that is as far away from my leg as this one is from my head, or the one that’s at the bottom of the stack and thus, actually closest, probably, because it’s right by my hand.

“Prayers are addressed to him only in case of sickness. ‘Thou who art above, take not my child; he is still too young!’4 Offerings are rarely made to him except during storms.

4 Martin Gusinde, ‘Das höchste Wesen bei den Selk’nam auf Feuerland,’ Festschrift W. Schmidt, Vienna, 1928, pp. 269-274.”

cheerful.

that was from the sacred and the profane by mircea eliade. it’s the 1959 harper, brace & world edition, for those keeping score at home. it has some interesting markings on it from the previous owner.

i’m not a big tagger… despite the perpetual blueberry-scented expo marker in my pocket… so i’m going to skip that part. but feel free to do it on your blog if you want.

Published in: on 7 March, 2008 at 8:23 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peculiarqueer.wordpress.com/2008/03/07/66/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hi Cubbie,

    I’m leaving this comment mostly so you’ll have my e-mail address. I’d love it if you e-mailed me, so I can have yours too, and so I can hear how you’re doing. Also, this story about a woman who is both Pagan and Quaker is running for mayor of Sacramento made me think of you:
    http://www.wildhunt.org/2008/03/pagan-running-for-sacramento-mayor.html

    Willow


Leave a Reply

